Remember Jesus: We’re all family

Post: 14 May 2016

So, I’m in a “conversation” with a guy on Facebook. It’s more like arguing. I remember him from a year ago and the memory is that he is antagonistic; he’s a cad; and he’s out to attack whomever he can just to get under their skin.

I was commenting on a friend’s post and this guy showed up and attacked me. He did not like that I was “playing the Christian card” and in my estimation he felt convicted by what I said.

Anyway, he attacked me and my first response was to fight back – and I did. But shortly after I thought about Jesus and how He would handle Himself in this situation. So, I slowly took on the cloak of forgiveness. It didn’t work all that well as I still have a bite in my tongue from the bipolar thing. I seem to say things at times in a biting fashion when I don’t even know I’m doing it. So anyhow, this conversation goes on a little while and in the course of it, I suggested that this guy might need to ask God into his heart. For Jesus is the only one who died for us so that we might be saved and have a relationship with the Almighty.

I haven’t heard back from him yet. He is probably either disgusted with the whole thing now, or he is planning his next attack. Either way, I will let God do the talking for me.

Music

Way back in 1998 I was attending Crossroads Community Church in Vancouver, Washington. There I was introduced to many Christian artists whom I enjoy listening to to this day. Our family was fortunate to see some acts live in church and the concerts were quite awesome, really. Crystal Lewis, and Avalon come to mind right away. Two great acts with really good messages that they carried through song. I’d like to offer up some selections for you here. Just click on the titles and a new tab will open with the video in question.

These selections are also all available on YouTube. Just type up the names/titles and you’ll be off and running.

Music has been a big part of my life. Whenever I am ready to be entertained, the first thing I think of is music. I’m not a big fan of television. I would rather sit on the couch listening to music and staring out into the world than to sit and watch a tv show. I don’t know why, it’s just that music is more enjoyable and engaging for me. So naturally, when I found some good Christian music I embraced it with eager and open arms. I have a moderate collection on my mp3 player and go to bed with earbuds in and music soothing me to sleep. I switch between Christian, Ambient, and 70s Pop and Easy Listening for my bedtime pleasure. The Ambient gives me the best sleep, but I just love changing it up so that I don’t get bored listening to the same stuff over and over again. I have over 5000 songs in my collection. But I need more. And I am praying that you can help me grow my Christian collection.

If you wouldn’t mind, please comment or email me your favorite Christian artists so that I might peruse their works and hopefully find some new music for my listening pleasure. The great thing about Christian music is that it ministers to us while we listen. It’s really cool.

So today in Bible Study/Church I watched online the sermon from that old church I mentioned earlier – Crossroads Community Church, in Vancouver, Washington. If you like you can Google them and check ‘em out. Or, I’ve provided links at the bottom of this post. They are a laid-back, cool as wool church. The pastor has dreadlocks and reminds me of a hippie priest or a Rastafarian dude. It’s really cool. This isn’t the same pastor that I remember from when I attended back in ‘98. That pastor, Bill Ritchie, is still there as an adviser now. This new pastor, Daniel Fusco is energetic, genuine and very knowledgeable and the online sermons are taped from the Sunday services they hold. And, they seem to go in series’ now. I am currently watching the Jesus > Everything series. It’s a study in the book of Galatians. It’s a great series.

So what did I learn today? Well, to be honest, I have to go back and read the scripture because my memory issues are keeping me from remembering the sermon. That’s the price I pay for being bipolar.

Galatians 4:1-20

Oh yes, now I remember something. This, Paul’s letter to the Galatians Chapter 4 is talking about family. We are now part of Christ’s family. And Paul is fearful that the Galatians have fallen backwards and are listening to Judaisers who want the Galatians to go back to the law and follow the rules and regulations that the churches had abandoned once they accepted Jesus as Savior.

It’s a thing about maturity, about putting off childish things and standing up and being a mature Christian.

It’s not a very good message to discuss here today because it is incomplete. The continuation of the message, I believe, will have more explanation. And I’ll watch that video tomorrow. But suffice it to say that we are of the family of God and being such, we should put off the old ways and cleave to Christ. If we are Christ’s we are free indeed – free from the law which was our tutor but is now dead to us because we are new creatures in Christ. We have to be careful to stay away from religion – things that people tell us we need to do in order to remain a Christian. Like keeping the sabbath, or not eating pork and other stuff like that.

That is not to say that we should not strive for good works. Faith without works is dead. As James says in his book in Chapter 2. But our salvation and continued salvation is not based on works it is based on faith and the grace of God. So strive to remain faithful: resist the devil and follow after righteousness.

That is all for today. Oh,, but before I go, I should like to share a poem with you.

Today

in but a moment

there future

will have passed

Tomorrow

in it’s future

the moment too

is cast

Therefore take

that I may give

to you

Share

that it may live

Nourish

that it may grow into

Itself

to one day

Give.

Crossroad Community Church

Jesus is greater than Everything series (link)

Peace my friends. May God richly bless you.

3 thoughts on “Remember Jesus: We’re all family

  1. Pingback: Remember Jesus: We’re all family – wandasncredible

  2. I like the poem. I also like Avalon. They are one of my favorite Christian artists. Sometimes we all forget that the fight is actually the Lord’s. Remember that the enemy will use whomever he can to take the focus off Jesus. Even those we need to pray for and offer Jesus to in the midst of the situation.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you Wanda, it is hard for me to remember that the enemy is fighting a battle with us. I lose focus pretty easily. Yes, Avalon is great! We saw them at church in Washington state many years ago and they really rocked the house. What are some other musicians/artists that you like?

    Like

Leave a Reply

