Un-hand me, my self….

I don’t know what I did. I screwed up my wrist. So, I am typing this up one-handed.

I find my thought process to be slowed quite significantly because of this hunt-and-peck order, and, I tend to hit the wrong keys often.

Last week I helped a neighbor build a green house. It was a kit. And, it was a real challenge. Not only were the instructions poor, but the design was something out of a science fiction book. We were assembling and unassembling things over and over again because that is the way they designed the construction of it. We were not completely happy campers. That being said, we finished it in three days.

It was nice to get out of the house and be productive again. It’s been a long time since I had any projects to make me feel useful. And there’s something to be said about that. A person (me) sitting on his duff all the time, staring into a flat box with lights (laptop) just is not beneficial for the psyche. It’s like how they say playtime for the kids improves their test scores. A man without activity soon wastes away.

 

My neighbor and I connected again. A different neighbor. This lady is 85 years old and is the most positive-minded person on the block. She is a Jehovah’s Witness and has been reading the Bible for over 60 years. She is my “girlfriend” – we chat for hours at a time when I see her and we always leave smiling. She has had a difficult life but she has shone through with grace. So anyway, I hadn’t been over to her house for a couple of months and I felt guilty and half-expected her to question me on my whereabouts. But she did none of that and simply greeted me with a big smile.

After I got back home, I started thinking about it. How special our relationship is. Here we are thirty years apart and we have so much to talk about. I don’t know what it is but I have always had an affinity for talking with older folk. Even when I was a kid, there were older people who would open up to me and tell me things. And in my teens I volunteered at a rest home and would sit and talk with the folk for long periods of time. I just felt the need to be there for them so they could feel “connected”, not alone. Y’know?

Well, this neighbor said last night that we haven’t been having our talks like we used to. And she is right. I haven’t been as attentive as in the past. I need to fix that. So I’ll be going over there for a pow wow this weekend. It should be a rip roaring good time.

2 thoughts on “Un-hand me, my self….

Leave a Reply

